WIP: Update #2 on Encryption

As I’ve mentioned in my previous wip post, I decided to drop the idea of using illustrations and to just stick with the English alphabet. Creating a new typeface (using Chinese calligraphy) would reinforce the idea of a “foreign language” that is easily recognizable, but not stray too far that it will lower the chances of the audience decoding the hidden message.

On a side note, I’ve decided to stick closely to the rules of Chinese calligraphy and write all the letters in a box shape (excluding the hanging strokes for the letters j, p, q, and y) following the preference of majority of the people I asked, saying that it was more visually appealing. I will be using the typeface as seen on the lower half of the picture.

IMG_20170404_224257

Now that I’ve settled with a typeface, the next think I need to finalize is the encryption that I’ll be using.

Two things to keep in mind:

  1. Amount of time and work it will take for the audience to decode
  2. If it is evident to the audience that the text needs to be decoded

A couple of encryption methods I was considering includes: Caesar, Vigenere, Beaufort, Alberti, and Bellaso. (Check out dcode. There’s a ton of cool stuff there for problem solving.)

All these, with the exception of Caesar, will require a key or a tool to be able to decode a message, which seems a lot more complicated compared to a simple substitution of letter by shifting – which is the Caesar method. The original Caesar methods works by shifting the alphabet by 3 letters, so that A will be encrypted as D, B as E, C as F, and so on. If a message says “what’s the password?” the encrypted text would read “zkdw’v wkh sdvvzrug?”

As seen in the first picture above, “hidden meanings” was encrypted to “ghccdm ldzmhmfr.” Since my piece is to be presented as a visual piece, it seemed just a bit too hassle if I were a part of the audience member and had to shift all the letter by 3. Since an unfamiliar typeface already adds to the complication of reading, I decided to shift the letters by __ (I just realized, if I mention the number I used, it would give away the message before I even finish my piece, haha.) I tried shifting them to the right and to the left, to see which combination would look more appealing.

IMG_20170402_201829.jpg

Disregarding the spacing, the upper text seemed a bit more appealing to me just because the lower text looked like it uses too many boxy letters such as U, M and N.

IMG_20170402_202144

I was satisfied with the results after trying it out with the proper space allotment for the size of the frame that I’ll be using, and so, I decided to stick with this encryption.

All that’s left is for me to:

  1. actually write this down on a cartolina and make sure each stroke looks right because I keep making mistakes and irregularities between my letters
  2. frame it up on a wall
  3. find a way to make it a little more obvious that the audience actually needs to decode the text and not just appreciate how nice my typeface looks (lol)
  4. also, think of a title (will most probably have to address #3)
  5. Oh yeah,
  6. Happy April Fool’s!!!

Can of Dices

4/1/2017

Leave a Reply

